MaxMSP is a visual programming language that helps you build complex, interactive programs. This is especially useful for building audio, MIDI, video, and graphics applications where user interaction is needed. I followed a few of the tutorials provided so I could grasp the basics of this program. I created this patch which takes video input  (either live or pre-recorded) and feeds the data through RGB colours and then converts it into MIDI notes. The sound can then be adjusted accordingly.

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 19.16.59

I furthered this by connecting Max 7 to MadMapper (a software used for projection mapping) using a Syphon package. This means I can edit live or pre-recorded video to then be outputted and updated live to MadMapper.

 

I also used a TUIO patch, an open framework that allows the transmission of an abstract description of interactive surfaces, including touch events and tangible object states. With this patch I connected Max 7 to CCV (an open source/cross-platform solution for blob tracking with computer vision). In theory, this means I can use CCV to track movement via camera which turns the movement into blobs, the blobs can then be sent to Max 7 where the response to project video on top of the blobs can be made. This can then be outputted through MadMapper and projected onto the city model I am building.

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 15.41.22

 

